Return to Headlines

Teachers Selected to National Board Certification Cohort

Keller ISD has selected 12 teachers for its next National Board Cohort to start their work in July toward earning a National Board Certification.

National Board Certification is the most respected professional certification available in education and provides numerous benefits to teachers, students, and schools. The certification was designed to develop, retain, and recognize accomplished teachers and to generate ongoing improvement in schools nationwide. 

Congratulations to the following teachers who have been selected to join the cohort: 

Petra Argil (Parkview ES)
Meredith Banks (Eagle Ridge ES)
Jennifer Hardwick (Whitley Road ES)
Avery Jarrach (Whitley Road ES)
Sarina Joliff (Shady Grove ES)
Kristin Moses (Basswood ES) 
Mindy Muse (Keller MS) 
Evadne Padilla (Vista Ridge MS)
Amanda Self (Caprock ES)
Kate Soto (Whitley Road ES) 
Joanna Vanderveer (Friendship ES) 
Deborah Young (Basswood ES)

These teachers will be part of a two-year journey toward attaining National Board Certification. The certification process requires that teachers demonstrate standards-based evidence of the positive effect they have on student learning in alignment with Five Core Propositions. They must exhibit a deep understanding of their students, content knowledge, use of data and assessments and teaching practice. They must also show that they participate in learning communities and provide evidence of ongoing reflection and continuous learning.

"I am so excited to work with these amazing educators," said Valerie Minor, Keller ISD Coordinator of Professional Learning and AVID District Director. "I can't wait to see what they accomplish over the next two years." 

Congratulations to the 12 newest members of Keller ISD National Board Cohort.