Keller ISD Home Page > Community > Communications > District News > Board Approves 2017-18 Instructional Calendar
Bookmark and Share

Board Approves 2017-18 Instructional Calendar

Keller ISD's Board of Trustees approved the Instructional Calendar for the 2017-18 Academic Year at its Regular Meeting on February 9, 2017.

Click here to download a copy of the 2017-18 KISD Instructional Calendar!

The changes to the calendar are a result of the Board's January 19th approval of the Keller ISD District of Innovation Local Innovation Plan which has a term of five years, affords greater levels of flexibility, and provides exemptions in 10 areas including the state mandated calendar start date.

The first day of school for the 2017-18 academic year will be Tuesday, August 15, 2017, with the last day of school scheduled for Thursday, May 24, 2018.

In addition to Labor Day on Monday, September 4, 2017, KISD will observe district-wide holidays:

Fall Break - November 20-24, 2017
Winter Break - December 18, 2017-January 2, 2018 (Students will not return until Jan. 4)
Martin Luther King Day - Monday, January 15, 2018
Spring Break - March 12-16, 2018
Friday, March 30, 2018 (Bad Weather Make-Up Day)

Additional Student Holiday/Teacher Professional Development Days will be held:

Monday, October 9, 2017
Monday, November 6, 2017
Wednesday, January 3, 2018
Monday, February 19, 2018
Monday, April 16, 2018

The District will also observe the following Early Release Days:

Thursday, December 14, 2017 (9th-12th grade, Final Exams)
Friday, December 15, 2017 (PreK-12th grade)

Wednesday, May 23, 2018 (9th-12th grade, Final Exams)
Thursday, May 24, 2018 (PreK-12th grade)